After getting sacked, This is what Pahlaj Nihalani has to say about Anurag Kashyap

After taking himself too seriously, The ‘Sanskari Chief’ Pahlaj Nihalani seems to be no good for Modi government and was sacked as CBFC chief on 11 August 2017. Pahlaj Nihalani is on fire nowadays. In a recent interview with Republic Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami, he spoke about censorship, CBFC’s internal issues, and controversies which have shown him this day. But, the most talkative point became his comment on Anurag Kashyap.

Pahlaj Nihalani said, “What has he made till today? He has given 350 crore loss to the film industry. He is free to say anything he wants to say. His future filmmaking is in trouble. His company is about to bankrupt. What else he has to do?”

pahlaj nihalani and anurag kashyap

Anurag Kashyap celebrates government decision to sack Pahlaj Nihalani

First, have a look at Anurag’s tweet:

The government made a surprise announcement and removed Pahlaj Nihalani as president of the censor board and appointed Prasoon Joshi to the post. Because of his controversial decisions, Nihalani used to live in headlines. Anurag Kashyap referred Nihalani’s exit as an occasion.

Pahlaj Nihalani in Controversies

  • On 4 June 2016, Nihalani became the center of a national debate on film censorship after he placed severe restrictions on the film, Udta Punjab.
  • On June 22, Nihalani issued a legal notice against IIFA awards and Wizcraft for defamation and inappropriate remarks about him during a comedy skit.
  • Pahlaj Nihalani asked for several cuts on Madhur Bhandarkar’s ‘Indu Sarkar’ and refused to certify ‘Lipstick Under My Burkha’.
  • Another controversy arose when the CBFC objected to the word ‘intercourse’ in Shahrukh Khan’s movie ‘Jab Harry Met Sejal’.

Nihalani out, Joshi in

On August 11, the government appointed Prasoon Joshi as the chairman of the censor board in place of Pahlaj Nihalani. In a release issued by the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting said that Joshi has been appointed the Chairman of the Board for three years with immediate effect or till further order.

Prasoon Joshi

Parsoon Joshi achievements and contribution

Prasoon Joshi was awarded the Padma Shri in 2015 for his contributions in the field of Arts, Literature, and Advertising. He also wrote songs for clean India. He has won several awards, including National Award for Best Song twice.

Good intent is the best start – Prasoon Joshi

Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) expects the newly appointed chairman Joshi of the Censor Board that he will be able to fulfill its responsibilities and creative ways and produce ‘positive difference’.

After his appointment, 45-year-old Prasoon told – “Good intent is the best start. It is my endeavor to take responsibilities and work best.” In a release issued by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, it was stated that Prasoon, a recipient of many awards, will be given a three-year period or till next order the post of CBFC’s chairman.

He said, “All those involved will create the difference. It must be done together. I believe that one has to develop an understanding. “Prasoon said,” It is a work that is to be done and we have to look at it constructively. I will do this with my best qualifications. He said that he understands the expectations of the industry from the board and will try to get everyone on board.”

Prasoon said, “I am glad the film industry has expectations from me. I have great respect for the film industry. I will try to get people’s opinions, their good views. I do not know how this (CBFC) works. I am not among those people who will sit and talk. I will work.”

Later in the conversation with reporters in Mumbai, Prasoon said that he is happy that good people have got a place as board members.

Newly appointed CBFC Board Members

The government has also restructured the existing board. Vidya Balan, Vivek Agnihotri, Gautami Tadimalla, Narendra Kohli, Naresh Chandra Lal, Neil Herbert Nongkynrih, Waman Kendre, T S Nagbharana, Ramesh Patange, Vani Tripathi Tiku, Jivita Rajsekhar and Mihir Bhuta has been included.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *